Skip To Main Content

Staff

2023-2024 School Health Nursing Staff

The mission of Unit 5 Certified School Nurses:
To enhance the educational potential of all students by promoting wellness and facilitating the resolution of health concerns which create barriers to learning.

The education and training of Certified School Nurses:
A Certified School Nurse (CSN) has passed the State of Illinois licensure exam to become a Registered Nurse (RN) & has graduated from a college or university with a Bachelors Degree in Nursing (BSN). In addition, a Certified School Nurse has gained a higher level of expertise through clinical experience and theory/classes to obtain certification from the Illinois State Board of Education in the specialty area of school nursing.

The definition of a “School Nurse” - by The National Association of School Nurses:
"School nursing is a specialized practice of professional nursing that advances the well-being, academic success, and life-long achievement of students. To that end, school nurses facilitate positive student responses to normal development; promote health and safety; intervene with actual and potential health problems; provide case management services; and actively collaborate with others to build student and family capacity for adaptation, self management, self advocacy, and learning."

HIGH SCHOOLS

  • Tamara Ahrens ahrenst@unit5.org  - BSN, RN, PEL-Certified School Nurse - Normal Community High School  
  • Jessica Murphy murphyj@unit5.org - MSN, RN,PEL-Certified School Nurse -  Normal Community High School
  • Paula Birsa birsapj@unit5.org  - BSN, RN, PEL-Certified School Nurse, National Certification - Normal West High School
  • Annette Cherry cherrya@unit5.org - MSN, RN, PEL-Certified School Nurse, National Certification - Normal West High School 

JUNIOR HIGHS SCHOOLS

  • Lyn Carter carterl@unit5.org - MSN, RN, PEL-Certified School Nurse, National Certification - Parkside Junior 
  • Andrea Powell powellan@unit5.org - BSN, RN, PEL-Certified School Nurse - Chiddix Junior High  
  • Joely McCaw mccawj@unit5.org - MSN, RN, PEL-Certified School Nurse - Evans Junior 
  • Jennifer O'Brien obrienja@unit5.org - RN, BSN, PEL-Certified School Nurse - Kingsley Junior  

EARLY LEARNING & ELEMENTARY SCHOOLS  

  • Kellee Mustard mustark@unit5.org - MSN, RN, PEL-Certified School Nurse  - District Wide Float Nurse 
  • Kacy Bryant bryantk@unit5.org - BSN, RN - Hoose 
  • Melissa Scottberg scottbm@unit5.org - BSN, RN - Cedar Ridge
  • Susy Marcum marcumns@unit5.org - MSN, RN, PEL-Certified School Nurse, National Certification, Nursing Department Chair - Grove & Eugene Field
  • Kelly Cole colekm@unit5.org - MEd, RN, PEL-Certified School Nurse, National Certification - Prairieland & Towanda
  • Amanda Goff goffa@unit5.org - BSN, RN, PEL-Certified School Nurse, National Certification - Parkside Elementary
  • Karen Reichard reichak@unit5.org - BSN, RN, PEL-Certified School Nurse - Benjamin
  • Jen Sikes sikesj@unit5.org - BSN, RN, PEL-Certified School Nurse - Sugar Creek
  • Emily Tucker tuckeres@unit5.org - BSN, RN, PEL-Certified School Nurse - Oakdale
  • Amy Jones jonesam@unit5.org - BSN, RN, PEL-Certified School Nurse - Fox Creek & Glenn
  • Jill Deacon deaconj@unit5.org - MSN, RN, PEL-Certified School Nurse, National Certification - Fariview & Hudson
  • Penny Brandt brandtp@unit5.org - BSN, RN, PEL-Certified School Nurse - Northpoint & Carlock
  • Amy Boland bolanda@unit5.org - BSN, RN - Pepper Ridge   
  • Rebekah Burch burchr@unit5.org - BSN, RN - Brigham
  • Melissa Anton antonmj@unit5.org - BSN, RN - Glenn & Fairview

Special Education Classroom

Substitute