Students willhorn of plenty dismiss early on Wednesday, November 26 for Thanksgiving break
    Dismissal times are:
    High School - 7:15 - 12:45
    Junior High - 7:45 -1:15
    Elementary - 8:45 - 2:35
    Early Childhood (PM) - 12:30 - 2
    Buses will be running. Breakfast and lunch will be served.
    There will be no school on Thursday, Nov. 27 and Friday, Nov. 28. 
    Enjoy the holiday weekend!
    Comments (-1)
    The Unit 5 District Office and all schools will be closed December 20, 2014 through January 4, 2015, for winter break. Monday, Jan. 5 is an Institute Day for staff only. Classes resume for students on Tuesday, Jan. 6, 2013. Enjoy your time off and have a safe winter vacation.
    Comments (-1)

    Several hospitals in Illinois and Missouri have recently reported clusters of severe respiratory illness in community members, especially children. McLean County Unit 5 Schools is closely monitoring the situation, and we ask everyone’s assistance to focus on prevention. 

    We are encouraging children to wash their hands, cough or sneeze into their elbow, and stay at home when they are sick. Hand sanitizer is available in each school, in addition to soap and water in the restrooms. Staff has also been reminded to regularly clean and disinfect frequently touched areas.

    We are also asking parents to partner with us in keeping children healthy through a few practical ways:

    ·         Practice good hygiene at home by washing your hands often with soap and water and coughing/sneezing into your elbow.

    ·         Don’t share germs by avoiding kissing, hugging and sharing cups or eating utensils with people who are ill. Avoid touching eyes, nose and mouth with unwashed hands.

    ·         Keep sick children at home for at least 24 hours after there is no longer a fever (without using fever-reducing medicine). Remember to call the school to report an absence using your school’s absence hotline and stating the reason for the illness.

    ·         Talk with your healthcare provider if your child’s symptoms become severe and if you have a child who is at a higher risk for complications.

    ·         Plan for child care at home if your child gets sick. Update emergency contact information for the school continually.

    Comments (-1)

Twitter Pinterest facebook